PDA

View Full Version : oooh.. SPACES....




connor
08-08-2006, 07:28 PM
http://www.apple.com/macosx/leopard/spaces.html

looks pretty slick, kinda like expose, but better.




Chunk
08-08-2006, 07:50 PM
first thing that came to mind when i saw the title of this thread

http://www.ebaumsworld.com/flash/spacepeople.html

Bridges!!!
08-08-2006, 10:26 PM
the f9 button works well enough for me

connor
08-08-2006, 10:59 PM
(Shift+f9 is cool too) but this is like the f9x1000 button

Madman
08-09-2006, 12:32 AM
Wow, is this supposed to be revolutionary? Press Alt+Tab on a Windows machine...im soo impressed :grinno:

connor
08-09-2006, 02:16 AM
Wow, is this supposed to be revolutionary? Press Alt+Tab on a Windows machine...im soo impressed :grinno:

<apple>+Tab does the same at ^^ Spaces is like 4 desktops at once.

ATN
08-09-2006, 02:55 AM
The whole 4 desktops thing is old hat for Linux/BSD running GNOME or KDE.

Yes, the Apple way of switching is nicer. I'll grant it that.

All in all, the preview has not convinced me to pay to upgrade. $129 so I can bloat my emails, highlight text into a to-do, and easily have too many windows open? Time Machine looks cool but proper backups and cronjobs can suffice.

edit: Turns out time machine can back up externally.

white ri0t
08-09-2006, 04:55 AM
how many extra gigs of ram will I need to run that?

Keefer
08-09-2006, 05:21 AM
how many extra gigs of ram will I need to run that?

Kinda what I was wondering.

Pretty nifty, but I could set up 50 programs to run in the background to eat my ram up instead if I so desired.

white ri0t
08-09-2006, 06:28 AM
Kinda what I was wondering.

Pretty nifty, but I could set up 50 programs to run in the background to eat my ram up instead if I so desired. but then would you be able to be as smug about doing that as you would with this program?

Didn't think so.

buy a linux

Keefer
08-09-2006, 10:41 AM
but then would you be able to be as smug about doing that as you would with this program?

Didn't think so.

buy a linux

APPLEZ RULEZ YOUZ!!11!!one!!1!ELEVEN1!!!!

switch
08-09-2006, 02:06 PM
how many extra gigs of ram will I need to run that?A few.

I like the idea, although I suppose I could just run a few VMs and achieve the same thing.